Prone to wait: With eager anticipation

waitingCan I be 100% honest for a minute? Waiting stinks. Like for real. It really, really stinks.

I find myself in a season of waiting on some pretty big things–things I thought would have worked out by now in one way or the other. But they haven’t, at least not according to how I thought they would. And clearly, working out according to my plan would be the best route for all involved.

To me, waiting has a direct correlation with frustration. I heard a great definition of frustration once: it’s the distance between reality and our expectations. Waiting, then, is when our expectations don’t meet reality in the time that we think they should.

We’re currently in the season of Advent–the celebration of and anticipation for the birth of Christ, according to the traditional church calendar. I’m reminded of people waiting on the promised Messiah–people who had faced persecution, displacement, suffering. He was the answer to their prayers, their longing, and I can’t imagine what that waiting must have been like.

But if you’re in your own season of waiting, I can understand that Advent and the recognition of waiting hardly feels like a celebration. Maybe you’re in a season you didn’t necessarily plan or a place you didn’t anticipate. Maybe you’re waiting on something big, or longing for something you know is a long way off.

I’m not going to give you empty platitudes, since those often seem to do more harm than good. I’m not going to tell you “It will get better” because maybe it won’t, at least not right away, or maybe it will and you already cognitively know that. I’m not going to tell you to “be patient, God has it all under control” because you’re already being patient–you likely have few options otherwise. Sometimes we just need to wallow in our own discontentment for a minute. (I find that stints on the couch watching Netflix is a good way to accomplish this wallowing, but perhaps you’ve got your own method.)

Here’s what I can say: press into this season and search for the ways that God is working in you–not in the thing you’re waiting on. Don’t be stagnant in the waiting season. Don’t let the wallowing last longer than a minute or two, because there are things to be done and learned and experienced in this season, as hard as that may seem. Don’t be blind to the things closest to you by being focused on the things far distant on the horizon.

And take stock of your expectations and your reality, and work to change those accordingly, should you have the ability to do so. Waiting often feels out of our control, but what we do in that season certainly is not.

One thought on “Prone to wait: With eager anticipation

  1. Brian and I are working through an Advent reading this year for the first time-sitting down together at the table after dinner and doing readings and opening two very personal advent calendars (lego and starbucks-you can guess which for who). For some reason Advent was never impressed upon us very much as a thing-maybe it’s a non-denomination thing. Anyway, on the first day as I was considering patience and really what Advent is… I opened day 25 of my calendar. True confession. But honestly, waiting or patience or whatever it is is an interesting thing. We presume to know what we are waiting for when we can’t even really know. And does the build up always make the thing better? Or are our expectations out of whack? Argh. Too many things to think about. I liked the word you used- longing. Longing for something, someone, etc. So good.

Please leave a reply!

