Prone to go: Welcome to colorful Colorado!

Winter Park, ColoradoToday marks one week that I’ve been in Colorado. It’s an admission that’s both surreal and oddly familiar. Someone asked recently whether it had “hit me” yet that I’m living in Colorado. Honestly, I’m not sure it has, and I’m not sure that’s a bad thing.

There have been so many things that I wanted to write about and share since my last blog post “announcing” this move, but this protracted season of transition has left little time or mental margin to sit down and think some thoughts and write them out. Now that I finally feel like I’m coming up for air after packing, saying good-byes, moving, unpacking, and generally living life like an extrovert for more weeks than I can count, I’m starting to put coherent thoughts together once again. Yay!

As I’ve been unpacking here in Colorado, I’ve found a few thoughtful notes wishing me well (and wishing that I would return) tucked away in boxes from two friends who helped me pack up my kitchen. Jonathan and Lyndsey helped me pack up on one of my last nights at my house. And it’s a good thing, too, since I had severely underestimated the time required to pack my kitchen. I’d likely still be packing were it not for them.

Their notes got me thinking back several weeks to the time I was packing up the boxes that I’m now unloading 1800 miles from home.

It was a surreal experience to see the place I’ve lived for 5 years completely empty. It was the first home that I owned, and I’m incredibly grateful for and proud of that experience. The last day in town, the day before I closed on the sale, I was moving out a few final things and decided to take a little walk around the place.

I walked through the empty rooms, remembering things in each one: the meals shared around the kitchen table, the parties hosted in the living room, the video we filmed, the dogs that stayed there a few times, the roommates in the front bedroom, the friends who helped me paint the office, the ONE TIME I used the fire pit on the patio in the span of 5 years.

When I bought the townhouse, I prayed that if God was blessing me with a home, then it would be a blessing to other people. I hope that’s been true. But more than that, I know it’s been a place that has grown me and shaped me, not because of the structure or the walls or the doors, but because of the people there, the conversations shared, and the memories made over the years.

I wrote a note to the new owner, telling her how excited I was that she had purchased my home, and how much it had meant to me. I told her that it had been a space of laughter and fun, and I hoped the same would be true for her and her family.

Then I turned around, setting sail for new adventures, and left the place that will always and never be home.

5 thoughts on “Prone to go: Welcome to colorful Colorado!

  1. Your absence is intensely felt by myself and everyone here at work. We’re saddened by our loss but excited for your future. It’s good to know that it’s a see you later and not a goodbye forever. Blessings as you navigate your new life.

    • Thanks, friend. Miss you too! The picture was taken at Winter Park. My dad and I drove out there before he flew back to FL. It was their last day open before they transition to the winter season, so we were able to catch a few of the aspen changing.

  2. Pingback: Prone to give: Rethinking generosity | Prone to wander

  3. Pingback: Prone to work: Motivation month | Prone to wander

Please leave a reply!

