Prone to ramble: An unintended hiatus

My last blog post of any measurable substance was back on September 19. This is rather unacceptable. (For the record, I don’t count the post on October 14, since it was largely a ploy to get people to “like” my Facebook page, just like I’m doing with this link…)

Surprisingly, this lack of blogging was not due to a lack of feedback, since several gracious people have shared that they enjoy my rambling, somewhat coherent thoughts and observations on life. It was really more a lack of priority.

I won’t say that I’ve been busy, but I will say that other things have been competing for time. And that’s ok. For a while, I operated under the assumption that everything had to have the same level of priority and attention. But this is unrealistic.

Sure, some things command a large and consistent amount of our mental energy and effort–many of our relationships, our job, etc. But I’m becoming more OK with the notion that some things are meant for a season–people move away, interests change, or you start dating someone. (For the record, this last one is not the reason I’ve been absent from the blog. Sorry to get your hopes up, mom and dad.)

For me, the important part is not equal priority all the time, but equal intention. More often than not, I find myself asking “Why am I doing this? What’s the purpose of getting this done? Am I enriching myself or someone else, or is this ultimately draining? Am I deepening a relationship by committing to this activity, or am I doing this out of an unreasonable sense of obligation? Why am I spending finite time doing this thing?”

One of my goals for 2014 is to be more intentional about the things I do and the things I don’t do, and to use that as a filter for my commitments. Another goal for the new year is to blog more–hopefully at least one post a week–and to be intentional about why I’m writing and what I’m writing about.

The end of a year is always an interesting, introspective time for me (I know that’s shocking for many of you), and I’m still processing what to make of 2013 and what to plan for and think about for 2014. I haven’t yet journaled about my 2014 goals, which is the ultimate form of processing, in my opinion. I can’t really say that this one is set in stone, but you have my word that I’m going to try and do better keeping up with this thing. Let’s see how this goes.

What about you? What’s on your mind as we end another year and look ahead to the next one?

Please leave a reply!

