The 30 Project: Go to a concert

Bucket List #24Paul McCartney is incredible.

When I assembled my “30 before 30” bucket list, I knew that I wanted to attend a big concert as part of the project. I like concerts, though I don’t attend many of them. I wanted to see a legend, or at least someone I considered legendary.

As luck would have it, Paul McCartney announced a tour stop around the time my list was finalized. He definitely fit the requirement of being a legend, and he rarely comes to Orlando. With little hesitation, I decided that this would fulfill item #24 and purchased two tickets, because reaching goals is more fun with people (more on that later).

To be honest, I’m not a huge McCartney fan. Don’t get me wrong: I like the Beatles, and I like his solo music and material from his time with Wings. But I don’t own much of his music. I can pick out the tunes and recognize the songs and I know many of the stories, but I’m definitely not “fanatical” about Paul. This was more about the rare opportunity to see a musical legend.

So my friend and I met up and started the evening with a terrible dinner experience: yay! But after eating only part of the food we ordered, we walked to the Amway Center where we were among the lucky concert goers that got to ride TWO escalators up to their section! It was at this point that I made the astute observation to my friend that on the Titanic, the peasants were at the bottom of the ship; at concerts, we’re shipped to the top.

Paul McCartney Orlando

And our seats…let’s just say it’s not possible to sit any higher in the Amway Center than we did. They should advertise these seats based on this benefit: “Hey look! No one sits behind you! No bumps on your chair!”

We had a good laugh about the seats, and the fact that the audience wasn’t exactly…diverse. And that’s saying a lot, considering I’ve seen Neil Diamond in concert. Twice. (Don’t judge: he has great music and the tickets were a gift. You’d go, too.)

The show starts. No opening act. No fanfare or flashy entrance. Sir Paul walks out to a cheering crowd and serenades us with “Eight Days a Week” and 36 other songs for more than 2 hours and 2 encores. He performed many of his hits to the sold out show. The staging was beautiful and the effects were excellent.

Simply put, it was incredible.

I’m extremely glad that I added this to the bucket list, and that it turned out to be a Paul McCartney show. If you ever have a chance to see him in concert, do it. You won’t regret it.

Now it’s on to tackle the other 28 items still left to do in the next 320 days. Who’s with me?

What’s the last concert you saw? Or maybe the best one? Who’s on your “concert bucket list” that you’d like to see sometime? Let’s hear it in the comments.

4 thoughts on “The 30 Project: Go to a concert

  1. Pingback: Prone to remember: May in review | Prone to wander

  2. Pingback: My 30 before 30 list | Prone to wander

  3. Pingback: Prone to reflect: A year on the list | Prone to wander

Please leave a reply!

