The 30 Project: Eat at a place from the Restaurant Bucket List

#27 from the 30 listI wasn’t planning on writing this post quite yet.

Even though this was my first completed task from my “30 before 30” list, it felt like a boring one to lead off with. It’s also the only one that was planned before I published the list back in April, so it feels a bit like cheating. But two of my friends blogged about the outing this week, and their posts have me all nostalgic about the restaurant and the evening with friends, so I decided to share.

There are several restaurants I always toss around as “someday/sometime” places I’d like to visit. Many of these are in central Florida. Some are well-known; others are highly recommended by friends. I decided to put together a bucket list of sorts: a running list of restaurants I’d like to try.

As with any goal that you want to accomplish, I attached a deadline for completion to eat at one of these restaurants. And thus was born #27 from my “30 before 30” list.

A little-known secret behind the 30 list: I’d like to complete each task with people. I’m going to write more about this soon, but it thrills my soul that I can build relationships with my friends and family and cross things off a task list at the same time.

As I was planning how I wanted to spend part of my birthday, I asked a few friends to join me at Prato up in Winter Park, FL. I had walked by this eatery several times. It always looked great, the food smelled excellent, and friends who had eaten there had great things to say about it. (See this previous post about other Winter Park fun.)

After spending part of the day at a book fair, I met my friends for an evening of good food and good conversation. Pretty much my definition of a great time.

This isn’t a detailed restaurant review of Prato. If that’s what you’re looking for, read about it from my friend Kathy. Or see my friend Mariah’s take on it. Needless to say, the food was outstanding, the drinks were great, and the company was delightful. They sat us at the chef’s table, which is actually used as a prep area when it isn’t busy. I know some people wouldn’t like sitting here, but for a bunch of foodies, it was glorious. We got to watch the open kitchen and see the hustle around the back of the house. I would even request to sit back here if we go again.

Prato tiramisuAfter being treated to tiramisu at the end of dinner, we walked down Park Avenue to our favorite watering hole and found a table outside on an absolutely gorgeous April evening. Fertile grounds for people watching, we sat and talked and sipped until dark.

It’s times like these that make me realized how blessed I am with the people around me–both physically close by and emotionally close by despite the distance. Take some time to do something fun with the people you appreciate. You won’t regret it.

What’s the last thing you did with friends or family that you really enjoyed? Which item from the 30 list should I tackle next?

3 thoughts on “The 30 Project: Eat at a place from the Restaurant Bucket List

  1. Pingback: My 30 before 30 list | Prone to wander

  2. Pingback: Prone to remember: May in review | Prone to wander

  3. Pingback: Prone to reflect: A year on the list | Prone to wander

Please leave a reply!

