If you can’t be with the one you love….

…love the one you’re with.

During the past four years since moving into my townhouse, I’ve made lots of updates to the bare beige walls that I welcomed me home. Friends and family have helped with various painting and hanging projects, and I’m generally happy with how things have turned out.

office wall

But one noticeable area has remained blank this whole time. The room that houses my computer and books* has a very obvious wall that has been empty, apart from the blue color I painted the room. It’s not for lack of ideas, though.

Gainesville Fruit Co.

While I was in college at the University of Florida in Gainesville, a local artist began a series of vintage produce label-style prints featuring places on campus and popular spots around town. I quickly fell in love with his design aesthetic and the personal connection with many of the featured places.

Since then, I’ve always wanted to hang on of his prints on this wall, especially since there’s plenty of other Florida Gator items in the room. But alas, I haven’t yet gotten one, partly because of budget and partly because of logistics, and I finally got tired of looking at an empty wall above my computer. I began looking around at other options for this space that wouldn’t require me purchasing anything. As the song says, “If you can’t be with the one you love, love the one you’re with.”

Vintage Florida Gator Calendar

I order the same calendar every year specifically for this spot in the same room. (I’m nothing if not a creature of habit.) The artwork is from old football game programs from UF, and I’ve kept at least four or five years worth of calendars, thinking I may one day use them for a project. I figured a collection of these prints would work well in this area.

prints and frames

I picked out my four favorite prints and arranged them for the wall. I also had four picture frames in my closet from a previously-abandoned project. This was starting to come together nicely.

print sizing

They weren’t the exact same size of the prints, but close enough. I took out the cardboard from the frames and printed them with flat black spray paint. Once they were dry, I taped the prints in the center of the cardboard, making sure both sides were even, and stuck them in the frames. After several attempts at measuring, I finally figured out the dimensions and space I was aiming for, and hung the frames on the wall. (They were light enough that I only had to use a small nail for each one.)

Gator print collage

So far, I’m happy with the result, although it does seem to make the room feel a bit smaller in general. I may end up widening the layout a bit to see how that changes things, but for now, I’m thrilled to have something on this space, even though it wasn’t originally what I hoped. But a guy can still dream…

What about you? Have you ever had to go with Plan B for a house project? What’s the last thing you did to liven up the spaces where you live or work?

*–I have a mental hang up calling a room an “office” and I really don’t know why. Maybe it sounds ostentatious. Perhaps I still consider myself too young to live in a place that has a room as an office. Or maybe I’m just weird.

3 thoughts on “If you can’t be with the one you love….

  1. Pingback: Prone to restore: A “new” antique fan | Prone to wander

  2. Pingback: Prone to create: When the mood strikes | Prone to wander

  3. Pingback: Prone to plan: 2014 resolutions and goals | Prone to wander

Please leave a reply!

